Filipino Printers Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Message Board for the Philippine Printing Industry (Established 2007)

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

What is 50% dot in negative-film?

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
aurelzki

Number of posts : 15

What is 50% dot in negative-film? Empty
PostSubject: What is 50% dot in negative-film?   What is 50% dot in negative-film? Icon_minitimeThu Aug 20, 2009 6:11 pm

Hello everybody! I'm so glad that I found this site. I’m a prepress operator just here in Manila, I’m operating Accuset 1500 with Eagle Rip software.

I just wanna ask if, is the 50% dot (ellipse) in negative-film is equal to the black portion as in 50% both?
I’ve been print the calibration test to observed just the 50% by using lens only, in that way i found out that the dot and the black area were not equal (the dot is bigger than the black area in 50 percent), I immediately made a call to our supplier to check the calibration. After their final calibration tsenek ko sa densitometer (X-Rite) ang value ng 50% it was exactly 50% ang reading, pero ng sinilip ko sa lens hindi pareho ang laki ng dot at black area sa 50%. The technician told that they were relying of what the denstometer’s reading.

There’s anybody can tell me about this? I believe the densitometers because it’s manufactured for that tasks and I’m sure that the densitometer we used was calibrated dahil galing ito sa supplier mismo. Ang iniisip ko lang dapat ang 50% ay 50%.

Thanks...
Back to top Go down
tin_man

tin_man

Number of posts : 6

PostSubject: Re: What is 50% dot in negative-film?   What is 50% dot in negative-film? Icon_minitimeThu Aug 20, 2009 7:38 pm